Australian High Commission
Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

About us


About the Australian High Commission in Sri Lanka

The High Commission aims to advance the interests of Australia and Australians internationally and to foster strong official and people-to-people links between Australia and Sri Lanka.

The Australian High Commission in Colombo has a number of sections - Political and Economic, Consular and Administration, Visa and Immigration, Development Cooperation, Austrade (Australian Trade Commission), Australian Federal Police, Australian Border Force and Defence. Contact details are available through the 'Contact Us' tab.

Head of Mission

Australian High Commissioner to Sri Lanka 

Opening hours

The High Commission is open between 08:30am and 05:00pm on all week-days, except on the days given below. Notarial services appointments are available between 2:00pm and 3:00pm on Monday and Wednesday only. 

Public holidays 2024

New Year’s Day 1 January Monday
Tamil Thai Pongal Day 15 January Monday
Day following to Independence Day  5 February Monday
Good Friday 29 March Friday
Eid al-Fitr/Ramadan Day 11 April* Thursday
Day prior to Sinhala & Tamil New Year Day 12 April Friday
May Day 1 May Wednesday
Vesak Full Moon Poya Day  23 May Thursday
Day following Vesak Full Moon Poya Day  24 May Friday
Nikini Full Moon Poya Day 19 August  Monday
Labour Day  07 October  Monday 
Christmas Day 25 December  Wednesday
Boxing Day 26 December Thursday
Additional DFAT Public Holiday  27 December Friday


*subject to the appearance of the moon